MandyDr.Mandy Keinhuis is a lecturer in Health Sciences at RMIT and is using RMIT’s Media Annotation Tool (MAT) developed by the team at EduTAG.

MAT is a tool that allowed material to be presented in a way that allowed students to see links between materials. It was something that was developed by the EduTAG team. It is quite interactive. Students could go in and click on a theorist and once they clicked on it up would pop all the stages of development. And if they popped on the linkage area it would tell them where in the text-book it was discussed. It was a way for them to see connections. Student feedback from previous years mentioned there are so many theories, that there are so many domains of development (social, emotional, cognitive) that students found it difficult to connect all that material together to make sense of it in a way that they could then apply to understand development throughout life. This is where MAT assisted with their learning.

 Do your students think that MAT supports their learning?

Yes I believe so. We haven’t collected a lot of formal feedback about student use of the tool. However we have got more informal feedback, like asking students to post on the discussion board where they found it useful. We found that the unsolicited comments from students were positive in that MAT allowed connections to the material.

What process did you use to choose the alternative online tool (MAT)?

I was talking with the EduTAG team about my needs as it was a part of a funded project they were involved in. As part of a larger funded project, we changed the whole way the course was delivered; in terms of a flipped classroom approach and the MAT tool we developed along side that. The students had access to more engaging, interactive flexibly delivered resources. Its engaging in a way that it’s a normal thing in the way that student could go in and see the links between the different facets. When I went to meet with EduTAG, I told them what I wanted, I had no idea what they could do, but I had this idea in my mind, and what it looked like on paper and when I told them what I wanted, once they showed their concept to me I thought “yes!”. I have been using it for about 4 years as the initial development started in 2011.

Interviewed by Erika Beljaars-Harris

